BJP Award

Best Junior Presentation Award

Continuing a tradition that started in 1996, the Benelux Meeting closed with the announcement of the winner of the Best Junior Presentation Award. This award is given for the best presentation given by a junior researcher and praises the quality of the presentation more than the quality of the research. To qualify for the Best Junior Presentation Award, the presenter must be a junior researcher working towards the PhD degree. The grading procedure is as follows. The chair of each session will ask three volunteers in the audience to fill out an Evaluation Form. After the session, the Evaluation Forms will be collected by the Prize Commissioners who will then compute a ranking. The winner will be announced immediately after the final lectures of the meeting. The award consists of a trophy that may be kept for one year, and of a certificate. At the end of the meeting, all junior presenters that have participated in the Best Junior Presentation Award contest will receive the Evaluation Form of their presentation.

Winner and Finalists

The finalists of the 2024 edition of the Benelux Meeting were (in alphabetic order):

  • Sanaz Akbarisisi (KU Leuven)
  • Joppe De Jonghe (KU Leuven)
  • Marieke Heidema (RUG)
  • Ming Li (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Max van Meer (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Francis le Roux (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Melvyn Wildeboer (RUG)

Max van Meer (Eindhoven University of Technology) won the award.

Evaluation Form

The Evaluation Form with the assessment criteria can be downloaded here. Session chairs will be provided with these forms with the details of the presenters who qualify for the BJP Award pre-filled.

Prize Committee

During this edition of the Benelux Meeting on Systems and Control, the coordination of the BJP Award and its nominations is taken care of by

  • Prof. Julien Hendrickx (UCLouvain)
  • Dr. Michelle Chong (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Dr. Wouter Hakvoort (UTwente)

who serve as an independent advisory panel for the Organizing Committee.